Switch to desktop version  
Winter/seasonal tyres? - Printable Version

+- VXOC Astra-J/GTC (https://vxoc.org.uk/forum)
+-- Forum: Astra-J/GTC Section (https://vxoc.org.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: Astra-J/GTC (https://vxoc.org.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=19)
+--- Thread: Winter/seasonal tyres? (/showthread.php?tid=4212)

Winter/seasonal tyres? - Exlabman - 24:th-Jan-2019

Hi,
Just wondered how many folk use seasonal or winter tyres on their cars?
I drive big yellow taxis for a living, I was so impressed with the winter tyres on the boo boo bus a couple of years ago that I sought some new wheels to fit winter shoes for my astra. Bargain find on fleabay £250 for 4 x 17" SRI astra alloys (exact same as on my car anyway) with Michelin cross climates already on and approx 6mm tread left.
The difference last 2 years in the winter was well worth it. As you can imagine we aren't allowed snow days.
I actually found I had more grip in the astra with the cross climates than in the Skoda Scout (4x4 estate thing) with summer tyres on in the frost and snow (as they didn't bother with them last year leading to some squeaky bum moments).
Bought some for the wifes Zafira B last year, she loved them too, ideal for the school runs on dodgy country roads.
Unfortunately she parked it in the side of a van and they don't fit her newer Zaf C with 18" wheels, so I'll be looking again for next winter and have bunged em on fleabay.
I don't use them all year round, reverting back to summer boots (Flaken azenis fk510, which I find great value and perform as well as much pricier rubber) when the weather improves, saves the tread and they are slightly heavier on fuel I think. I bought brackets and bolt em to the garage wall whichever I'm not using.
Interestingly the big yellow taxi service has now opted to run cross climates all year round on their vans and cars in my area.