Please note new users with 0 posts will have to have their first 2 posts approved by a Moderator or Admin. There is no point posting the same post / thread multiple times staff have a life and can't be expected to be on the forum 24/7. (December 17, 2016)



Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
insignia cluster into astra?
#1
would it be possible to fit this insignia cluster or the big full screen into an astra J? 
[Image: vauxhall-insignia-instrument-cluster.jpg?itok=WDjyufJg]
Reply
#2
It maybe possible depending if the shape is the same etc, but you may find issues with the Cruise control.
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#3
not a chance but nice idea
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#4
(29:th-May-2017, 00:05:32)tucpal Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.not a chance but nice idea

Never say never mate.
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#5
I'd pick one up if they're cheap and try and install it! See how you get on.. It would need pairing etc. But just trying to fit it and seeing what happens would be a good start

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

Different shape to the Astra... Think you'd struggle [Image: f39d0d2b766fc4e5c32d1ce7df72e033.jpg]

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk
[Image: vCa3MP6.jpg]

Astra Energy 63 Plate 1.7 CDTI (150BHP)

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#6
I would love to try and looking as the clusters they look the same shape there is a few on ebay, but being in australia i really can't justify spending the money on postage on something that may work. the plugs even look the same.
I the normal colour one did fit and work the large TFT screen version would be awesome.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#7
If your willing to pay for parts I am willing to give it a go for you.

From You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view. pic the bottom one from Charles trents is my local yard so could even collect & save the £12 P&P.

Just so you know I've done a few IPC upgrades for people on J's.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#8
Ive done a little bit of research and looks like the IPC wold have to have the eeprom reprogrammed to have the cars VIN, CarPass, code and milage changed to fit the car and if it fits in the dash and the plug wires are the same and if the communication protocol is the same, it should work.
i think im just going to buy one and try it in a few weeks.
Reply
#9
(29:th-May-2017, 11:17:41)Tylerrattv Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.Ive done a little bit of research and looks like the IPC wold have to have the eeprom reprogrammed to have the cars VIN, CarPass, code and milage changed to fit the car and if it fits in the dash and the plug wires are the same and if the communication protocol is the same, it should work.
i think im just going to buy one and try it in a few weeks.

hi there

sorry to but in, 
did you upgrade your clock, did it work??

Kind Regards
Dom.....
Reply
#10
Can't recall if the connector is the same on the J as it is on the Insignia speedo (see pic) anyone know?

[Image: a4871f362c465d5ffccbe72230ad93d2.jpg]

Sent from my MHA-L29 using Tapatalk
[Image: vCa3MP6.jpg]

Astra Energy 63 Plate 1.7 CDTI (150BHP)

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#11
The connector is the same I brought a set to play with totally different to the Astra, there is no separate EEPROM inside. As of yet I've not tried reading any chips as I have too much going on.
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#12
I think i read on the australian carmodder site that those IPC's what is on the eeprom in the older ipc's is in the main mcu,

i think some people have got them working... but some of the people on there are really into modding the chip contents, adding their own start up graphics and changing what's said when 'codes' come up on the screen etc,

They also play about with the 11bit gmlan codes that programs everything, and send codes to their IPC's via the OBDii port.. basically the same way a tech2/MDI does, but they are sending the codes themselves... so have no restrictions to what they send.. but it takes ages to learn all the godes, and their GMLan bible of codes are for the holden versions, our vauxhall GMLan codes are likely different.

but don't take my word for this... i get confused with what i hear sometimes, and their IPC's might be different to ours... they had one that was kinda similar to the astra J IPC, but where the orange/red mono graphic display is was a full colour one, looked to be the same shape as our ones (i.e. tall oblong thing)
Reply
#13
Any of their research public? Would love to have a look.
2009 Insignia Sports Tourer / (EDS) Remap 202hp/475Nm / (OEM) DAB+ retrofit / (OEM) Foglights retrofit / (Focal) sound system
Reply
#14
their site is : You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

they seem to operate a system of the more you contribute to the forum, the more access you get to the info,
they have this GMlan bible, which lists the pid's they have found... but of course their cars are slightly different to ours (like 6 litre V8's instead of the humble 1.3 cdti.. lol)
Reply
#15
Hi did anyone actually manage to use the insignia cluster on the Astra J?
Reply
#16
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view. & I have made some progress.

[Image: 1.JPG]

[Image: 2.JPG]

[Image: 3.JPG]

[Image: 4.JPG]

[Image: 5.JPG]
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#17
Why you didn't go for bigger one?
Reply
#18
(14:th-Aug-2018, 09:37:00)Roksab Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.Why you didn't go for bigger one?

Because there wasn't one when I brought this. and also the fact this was a cheap.

I'm not going to spend silly money on something that may not work.
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#19
How far have you got with this rusty I’ve been wanting to get one of these, let me know if you need another one to play with I’ll buy one . The big one with the sat nav would be good.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply
#20
@Rusty2009

for that small lcd IPC you don't need steering wheel comands from Insignia, you can use left stick....
Reply
#21
(14:th-Aug-2018, 18:38:40)Sh4rk2007 Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.How far have you got with this rusty I’ve been wanting to get one of these, let me know if you need another one to play with I’ll buy one . The big one with the sat nav would be good.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

We hae got as far as power up & trying to get all the steering wheel controls working.

(15:th-Aug-2018, 14:49:19)Roksab Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.@Rusty2009

for that small lcd IPC you don't need steering wheel comands from Insignia, you can use left stick....

We have tried to use left stork but it won't do anything. everything else works off the Astra controls.

With the insignia controls we can cycle the menus and set speed limiter and and c/c but can't control Radio (most likely need the HMI module).

I wouldn't mind getting the new siggy controls working if possible because I think they are nicer than the J one's.
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#22
(15:th-Aug-2018, 15:49:31)Rusty2009 Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
(14:th-Aug-2018, 18:38:40)Sh4rk2007 Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.How far have you got with this rusty I’ve been wanting to get one of these, let me know if you need another one to play with I’ll buy one . The big one with the sat nav would be good.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

We hae got as far as power up & trying to get all the steering wheel controls working.

(15:th-Aug-2018, 14:49:19)Roksab Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.@Rusty2009

for that small lcd IPC you don't need steering wheel comands from Insignia, you can use left stick....

We have tried to use left stork but it won't do anything. everything else works off the Astra controls.

With the insignia controls we can cycle the menus and set speed limiter and and c/c but can't control Radio (most likely need the HMI module).

I wouldn't mind getting the new siggy controls working if possible because I think they are nicer than the J one's.

Hi Rusty,

I'm trying to figure out how to change VIN in cluster.  I know that Astra J has it stroed in 24c16 eeprom so this is not that tricky. How about isignia ones? Would you mind sharing?


Thanks
Jay


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Astra J Coming Home Module / Key Signal Diagram EricMod 7 0 12:th-Oct-2018, 07:09:08
Last Post: Rusty2009
  Options to replace Navi 400 in 62 plate Astra Atarius 7 0 12:th-Sep-2018, 07:04:30
Last Post: Rusty2009
  insignia fog lights preparation zzattack 17 1,071 11:th-Jun-2017, 12:36:27
Last Post: zzattack
  Installing 2013 intellilink nav unit and trim on a 2010 Insignia i.rosca 5 543 13:th-Apr-2017, 13:52:33
Last Post: i.rosca
  Advice needed regarding HID upgrade for a 2010 Insignia i.rosca 11 1,110 17:th-Dec-2016, 15:55:57
Last Post: i.rosca
  Rear camera fit on Opel astra sports tourer info ;) Alienbv 20 6,223 28:th-Apr-2016, 14:47:53
Last Post: Jerry

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)