Please note we be moving to a new server, this will happen sometime Thursday onwards. If there is any downtime please rest assured we will be working hard to fix it and keep it to a minimum. Thank-you for your support. (July 12)

Please note new users with 0 posts will have to have their first 2 posts approved by a Moderator or Admin. There is no point posting the same post / thread multiple times staff have a life and can't be expected to be on the forum 24/7. (December 17, 2016)



Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
AUTO DIM ANTI DAZZLE REAR VIEW MIRROR retro fit
#1
[Image: vx.o.c.jpeg]

HOW TO FIT AN ANTI DAZZLE REAR VIEW MIRROR.

You will Have to find a Second Hand Auto Dim Mirror on eBay
If you can get the Small Loom that Goes too the Mirror
and the Console in the Headliner with it Also as it is needed.
 
If not go to your Local Dealer and Order one as you do Need it
you wont Need the Surround as this Can not be Fitted to the Glass
Unless you Replace the Front Windscreen.  

[Image: 1.JPG]

Remove the Console from the Headliner
There are Three Panels to Take off
Then pull the Light Unit out.

[Image: 2.JPG]

[Image: 3.JPG]

You will Then see a Connector Attached to the Roof
This is the One you will Need.

[Image: 4.JPG]

Connect the new Loom to this Connector
Pull the Other end of the Loom
Through the Front of the Headliner Toward the Mirror
The Picture of the Loom Below is the One you Need
It will Have Three other Connectors on it
For the Rain and Light Sensors
That go to the Mirror Surround
As these were Not Needed i Cut them off
but you Don't have too if you Don't want to.

[Image: 5.JPG]

[Image: 6.JPG]

[Image: 7.JPG]

Remove the Plastic Cap that Covers the Mirror Screw
that hold the Mirror onto the Windscreen
Take the Screw out and Remove the Old Mirror
A Toque (T20) is Needed.

[Image: 8.JPG]

[Image: 9.JPG]

Then Refit the New Auto Dim Mirror
And Plug the Connector in Place.

[Image: 10.JPG]

You now have a Working Auto Dim Anti Dazzle rear view Mirror
so when a car Drives behind you at Night the Mirror will Darken
so you don't get Dazzled by there Bright Headlights.

This worked Plug and Play on MY11 Spec car
but Remember it only Works in the Dark
when the Sensor Activates and Turns the Mirror on.
i Believe Fuse (15) in the Rear Fuse Box
Supply's the Power for the Mirror to Work
The Three Wires are
(Positive), (Ground), (Reverse Light Positive).
If it wont Work just Ask
I know off Another way to Wire it.  

[Image: 11.JPG]

You can Add a sun Strip to the Front Windscreen
to Hide the Small Wire that will be on Show.

[Image: 12.JPG]

AS WITH ALL ELECTRICAL HOW TOO,S.
you do this at your own risk if you follow the how to correctly
there should be no problems thank you.
 

[Image: vx.o.c.jpeg]
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#2
Whats that above your mirror?
[Image: Lewis_zpswvvuzf0s.jpg]
Reply
#3
Aftermarket parking sensors.
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#4
correct Thumbs
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#5
[MENTION=2]tucpal[/MENTION] & [MENTION=1]Rusty2009[/MENTION] Guys can you please give me a diagram of the connector attached to the roof mentioned above in tucpal's post. I have a crazy idea to hook up in the empty space the reverse monitor Wink Is it possible? That monitor needs 12v so can that cable offer 12v? Thank you all Wink

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
Reply
#6
You would have to measure the voltage and find out what it is as the mirror uses no more than 2 amp to operate
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#7
yes the voltage would need to checked I'll get the pin-out later today sure it's pin 9 for power and 10 for ground.
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#8
[MENTION=1]Rusty2009[/MENTION] & [MENTION=2]tucpal[/MENTION] I was just about to ask tucpal for a diagram, I searched & didn't finde anything. I have a multimeter & was preparing to get the Amps Wink ill wait for your result Rusty, but if you can find a diagram pls post it here. Thanks again guys.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
Reply
#9
your welcome
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#10
I will grab it later for you not a problem.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#11
I've not forgotten about the PINOUT I just have no internet other than on the mobile phone.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#12
Hey Rusty, don't worry, take your time whenever you can Wink Good night.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
Reply
#13
[MENTION=339]Alienbv[/MENTION] thanks for waiting mate, I'm now back up on-line and as promised here is the pin-out.

I was correct in my earlier post Pin 9 for power and 10 for ground.

[Image: X210%20Headliner%20Harness%20to%20Body%20Harness.jpg]
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#14
[MENTION=1]Rusty2009[/MENTION] Welcome back dear Rust Wink Thank you for the diagram. A stupid quick question, to mesure the amps on pin 9 do I have to cut that wire to put both ends of the multimeter to get the reading of the Amps? What I see on YouTube is that they cut the positive & mesure on it... Im still learning how to play with electric components Big grin Oh dear I just figured it out Big grin Im so Newbie Big grin ) Just have to touch the connector then the other end to the monitor red wire Wink

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
Reply
#15
Lol no need to cut it mate. as a thought do you have auto lights/wipers? If not you could get the loom extension part number 13378813 remove all the wires not needed (the two greens and 1 purple) cut the light/rain sensor plug off and then you have the power and ground wires with no modification to main head-liner loom what so ever which can also be removed if you sale the car etc.

In the UK that loom is £9 posted brand new.
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#16
Hey You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view. so what's this other method for powering that mirror as you say there should be a pin in the rear fuse box for it... As we know I don't have a rear fuse box lol

Sent from my XT1092 using Tapatalk
[Image: vCa3MP6.jpg]

Astra Energy 63 Plate 1.7 CDTI (150BHP)

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#17
Fingers crossed the insignia one is the same as the Astra one as I've just bought one!

Sent from my XT1092 using Tapatalk
[Image: vCa3MP6.jpg]

Astra Energy 63 Plate 1.7 CDTI (150BHP)

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#18
I'm not saying anything as I think my car may be getting stripped at the meet


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
[Image: Hevs%20sig.jpg]
Astra J BiTurbo
Reply
#19
(21:st-Jan-2016, 15:44:26)Hev Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.I'm not saying anything as I think my car may be getting stripped at the meet


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
[Image: Tonto_zps9kmln9qb.jpg]
Reply
#20
So we thinking the insignia one is the same then or no one know?

Sent from my XT1092 using Tapatalk
[Image: vCa3MP6.jpg]

Astra Energy 63 Plate 1.7 CDTI (150BHP)

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#21
Yes there the same nearly all insignia parts are the same
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#22
Spot on! Thanks mate got the loom coming too as I think I may have the power cable etc in the roof lining

Sent from my XT1092 using Tapatalk
[Image: vCa3MP6.jpg]

Astra Energy 63 Plate 1.7 CDTI (150BHP)

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#23
Help I don't have the fuse in rear of car can you tell me how else I can wire this please I have all the parts.
Reply
#24
Surely you can just put the fuse in? I mean I don't even have a rear fuse box and mine just plugged in and worked right away
[Image: vCa3MP6.jpg]

Astra Energy 63 Plate 1.7 CDTI (150BHP)

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#25
all you need is power and ground for it to work
rusty may tell you where is best to get it
sure the mirror only uses about 2 amp so a ten amp fuse wire will be needed
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#26
hi I tried there is nothing to hold fuse in so can you tell me the way to add to the interior light many thanks

I have the small loom from mirror to roof - do you know what the wires are I have red green purple need to know which one is + and - thanks
Reply
#27
(12:th-Feb-2016, 15:12:33)tucpal Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.all you need is power and ground for it to work
rusty may tell you where is best to get it
sure the mirror only uses about 2 amp so a ten amp fuse wire will be needed
Do you know what the wires are colours where to add them please I really want to fit this thanks
Reply
#28
rusty can you get a pin out of the mirror connector there are three
wires ground power and serial data
only need the power and ground colors
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#29
(12:th-Feb-2016, 20:07:54)tucpal Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.rusty can you get a pin out of the mirror connector there are three
wires ground power and serial data
only need the power and ground colors
Hi what does that mean sorry new to this thanks I advance

(12:th-Feb-2016, 20:07:54)tucpal Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.rusty can you get a pin out of the mirror connector there are three
wires ground power and serial data
only need the power and ground colors
Hi what does that mean sorry new to this thanks I advance
Reply
#30
Every connector on the car will have what is called a "pinout" what this allows you to see is what every pin on a connector does.. Whether it's data, live power or something else.. Sometimes you'll be missing a few pins from a connector (usually when your car wasn't built with a specific feature and you're trying to add it) so with a pinout you can see what you have and what you need to have (or add) to get something working

Sent from my XT1092 using Tapatalk
[Image: vCa3MP6.jpg]

Astra Energy 63 Plate 1.7 CDTI (150BHP)

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#31
hi can you put some pics of the cable you have got for us to look at the color wires

while you are waiting for us to work it out you better get some 10amp wire from halfords
red and black

wires are positive, ground and reverse light positive.
but colors are needed

so one wire goes to a ground position
remove the glove box and you will see a bolt with a nut there remove the nut and attach the ground wire

[Image: 10_zps7pslc63v.jpg]

power can be taken from the fuse box by tapping into a 10 amp fuse
using a piggy back fuse with 2x 10 amp fuses in the piggy back

so you need a 10amp fuse
and a piggy back fuse holder

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

[Image: 11_zpswncoohae.jpg]

[Image: 12_zpsnkrvltuw.jpg]

and the reverse light positive wire will run the the rear reverse light
and tap into the green wire for the reverse live

that is the way i would do it but let rusty find the color wires and what they are
and confirm i am correct or he may have a better way of doing it
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#32
(13:th-Feb-2016, 12:11:55)tucpal Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.hi can you put some pics of the cable you have got for us to look at the color wires

while you are waiting for us to work it out you better get some 10amp wire from halfords
red and black

wires are positive, ground and reverse light positive.
but colors are needed

so one wire goes to a ground position
remove the glove box and you will see a bolt with a nut there remove the nut and attach the ground wire

[Image: 10_zps7pslc63v.jpg]

power can be taken from the fuse box by tapping into a 10 amp fuse
using a piggy back fuse with 2x 10 amp fuses in the piggy back

so you need a 10amp fuse
and a piggy back fuse holder

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

[Image: 11_zpswncoohae.jpg]

[Image: 12_zpsnkrvltuw.jpg]

and the reverse light positive wire will run the the rear reverse light
and tap into the green wire for the reverse live

that is the way i would do it but let rusty find the color wires and what they are
and confirm i am correct or he may have a better way of doing it
Many thanks does this mean running a wire from boot to the mirror for the reverse wire ?
Reply
#33
Sorry been busy I'll look tomorrow


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#34
thanks rusty

most likely but i am sure that wire is not needed only the power and ground
should be needed
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#35
(13:th-Feb-2016, 20:51:00)Rusty2009 Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.Sorry been busy I'll look tomorrow


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Many thanks will keep looking here for updates. Thanks in advance.
Reply
#36
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view., sorry for my delay in getting back with the info.

Here is a pin out for the plug that you should already have in the headliner

[Image: X210%20Headliner%20Harness%20to%20Body%20Harness-1.jpg]

You need to make sure it has the following wires / pins.

Pin 12 Green
Pin 11 Violet/Green
Pin 10 Black
Pin 9 Red/Blue
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#37
Anyone know where I can get the wire harness from as Vauxhall not got any and want to order from Germany. Thanks in advance
Reply
#38
(16:th-Feb-2016, 11:22:07)Daz21 Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.Anyone know where I can get the wire harness from as Vauxhall not got any and want to order from Germany. Thanks in advance

You could Autovaux but you find they would also have to order it from Germany.

Other than that look on eBay for someone braking a J.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#39
(16:th-Feb-2016, 11:33:29)Rusty2009 Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
(16:th-Feb-2016, 11:22:07)Daz21 Wrote: You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.Anyone know where I can get the wire harness from as Vauxhall not got any and want to order from Germany. Thanks in advance

You could Autovaux but you find they would also have to order it from Germany.

Other than that look on eBay for someone braking a J.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Can't find this wire loom any where ?
Reply
#40
Anyone know what the part or reference number would be for the windscreen that I'd require to be able to fit the surround for the mirror?

Sent from my XT1092 using Tapatalk
[Image: vCa3MP6.jpg]

Astra Energy 63 Plate 1.7 CDTI (150BHP)

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.

You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#41
Hi Tucpal i already have the auto dim mirror but have no idea on how to remove it from the base. would you know how its done?
Reply
#42
There is a screw on the Base which you undo. It slides off after you've removed that

Sent from my LG G4 using Tapatalk
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#43
Thanks bhalay207 do you also know how to remove the casing that is on the windscreen? i dont know how else to describe it but if you look at the windscreen from the outside you can see the part i am talking about
Reply
#44
I don't I'm afraid mate. I'd imagine it just clicks on but that's just a guess

Sent from my LG G4 using Tapatalk
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#45
i dont want to yank it off and end up breaking the damn thing. my mirror is loose so thought i could open it up to see if i can fix it. never mind but thanks for your input
Reply
#46
The casing is clipped on pull off from the bottom and then you need to push it up as it hooks over at the very top. it also comes in two parts which again also pulls apart.

It's a pain the butt to fit back on and you have to be careful not to bend the thin plastic clips as they are very flimsy.

I did a car that had it's windscreen replaced by autoglass and they just bonded it back with sealant (they didn't break any clips).
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#47
Thanks Rusty. will take a look during my lunch
Reply
#48
Hello there! I have an Insignia and today I bought an auto dimming mirror for Astra. As I know many components are the same at both models, Astra and Insignia.
The problem I have is that I don't have the same wiring as you, neighter the connector. So the things are little more complicated. So I ask for your help.

[Image: 6d23032462a87466d3fd59ed4813f5a3.jpg]
As you can see there is no connector.

[Image: 5dd9768c2935c1b5874c2c427384094c.jpg]
Indeed the mirror it's a little... bigger.

[Image: d91089fc932c51b57a7b258386085c76.jpg]
This is the connector from the mirror.
I have a greeen/white cable, I guess for the reverse signal.
Then a violet/green for ground and another cable un balck colour, for ground.

[Image: 9f665f9f09b976859e9978c0249a03e6.jpg]
This is the only connector inside.

What do you recommend me to do?
Take power from the existing connector?

Thanks!

PS: if I'm offtopuc, I apologise...


Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk


Attached Files Thumbnail(s)
   
Reply
#49
That connector is another light connector nothing to do with the mirror even on the insignia.
[Image: Rusty-2_zpsuzrvgsp6.GIF]
Astra-J 2.0 CDTI S/S
Retrofitted AFL, TPMS, Navi950, BT, DAB, Rear Camera, Infinity sound system, Towbar, Flexfloor & more.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
I can do programming and retrofits using genuine GM MDI and Dealer software.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
You are not allowed to view links. Register or Login to view.
Reply
#50
So should I find that connector of the mirror after all in another location? Where can I find some electrical schemes diagrams?

Sent from my LG-H815 using Tapatalk
Reply


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread Author Replies Views Last Post
  Rear view camera MarkAP68 0 0 25:th-Jul-2021, 13:51:03
Last Post: MarkAP68
  DAB retro fit for cars with the CD 400 tucpal 203 42,337 13:th-Mar-2021, 13:20:56
Last Post: Morpheus75
  DAB retro fit for cars with the cd500 and 600 tucpal 112 15,862 2:nd-Feb-2021, 12:20:02
Last Post: Bernie2021
  How To Modify Rear Door Card From Car With Elec Windows To Fit Car With Window Winder Jetcolour 5 0 24:th-May-2020, 10:19:26
Last Post: Rusty2009
  POWER FOLD MIRRORS retro fit tucpal 121 30,355 19:th-Jan-2020, 09:18:53
Last Post: Rusty2009
  Astra J Sport tourer and OEM rear view camera saarits 47 2,421 26:th-Mar-2019, 23:38:23
Last Post: tzr608
  Retrofit Rear Power point 5 door Astra J Ballinlea 3 0 20:th-Mar-2019, 18:13:44
Last Post: Rusty2009
  USB factory retro fit tucpal 20 8,748 13:th-Jan-2018, 12:12:55
Last Post: marcus01

Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)